Note: The requirement that applicants for an initial license submit fingerprints has been temporarily suspended due to COVID-19. At this time, the Board may issue a license to an applicant who has not submitted fingerprints. Please note that applicants may still submit fingerprints and are encouraged to submit such; for example, fingerprinting will be required for license renewal for any individual who has not previously met the requirement. Information on this page will be updated after the temporary suspension has been lifted and the fingerprinting requirement is back in effect; the date of such has yet to be determined. In addition, with regard to applicants for a temporary license, the requirements that the Confirmation of Examination Registration and Eligibility to Examine form that the Board will receive from NBCOT prior to issuing the temporary license will reflect a 90-day examination window and that applicants who will receive a temporary license must take the examination during that 90-day window have been temporarily suspended.
THIS IS JUST AN OVERVIEW. SEE THE ACT AND RULES PAGE FOR FURTHER INFORMATION.
Note that rule amendments to Chapter 364 take effect September 1, 2020, including concerning certain requirements for temporary licensure; until then, the current rules are in effect. Refer to the "Proposed/Adopted" tab from the Act and Rules page for further information. This OT page and others on this website will be updated on September 1, 2020 or soon thereafter to reflect the changes effective on that date; until then, further information may not reflect the changes.
NEW: NBCOT is reporting scores on a weekly basis as of February 7, 2014. Since scores are arriving weekly, you can get your regular license faster.
A temporary license is only available to someone who is taking the NBCOT exam for the first time and has never held a license in any US State, territory, or foreign country for OT practice.
The Board must receive:
- The complete online or paper application form with the appropriate fee;
- A passport type photo in color, affixed to the application or mailed in separately. The color photo should be 2" x 2" on photographic paper, with the printed name of the applicant and date of birth (DOB) written on the reverse side;
**See above regarding the temporary suspension of this requirement.**NEW LICENSURE REQUIREMENT (Effective January 1, 2019) - FINGERPRINTINGPlease see the announcement on the homepage for further information. Fingerprinting is a required item for license issuance on or after January 1, 2019;
- Successfully passed Jurisprudence Exam, an open-book exam, based on the OT Act and Rules;
- SSN, or affidavit of no SSN;
- Physical home address;
- Email address;
- Receipt (emailed to email@example.com or mailed) that you have ordered that your NBCOT score be reported to the Texas OT Board.
- The Confirmation of Exam Registration and Eligibility to Examine form from NBCOT. (Make arrangements for NBCOT to send us this form.);
- Temporary License fee (this is different from the regular application fee) sent separately by check or money order or submitted online if paid when originally applying for initial licensure.
- Temporary Supervision Form signed by the Texas OT with a current license who will be your supervisor (this form may NOT be faxed or emailed); and
- We must receive your score directly from NBCOT, and your exam date must be by the eligibility expiration date on your Confirmation of Exam Registration and Eligibility to Examine form from NBCOT.
Applicants for a temporary license, note that if you receive a temporary license, if you fail to take the examination, fail to take the examination during the window as stated on the Confirmation of Examination Registration and Eligibility to Examine form from NBCOT that is submitted to obtain the temporary license, or fail to have the score reported, the temporary license will be void and must be returned to the Board.
An additional temporary license will not be issued.
Temporary licensees must have all their notes co-signed and receive extra supervision. An OT with a temporary license must have on-the-premises supervision by an OT with a regular license. An OTA with a temporary license must have on-the-premises supervision from an OT or OTA with a regular license.
Refer to §373.2, Supervision of a Temporary Licensee, Chapter 364, Requirements for Licensure of the OT Rules, and the full OT Rules and OT Practice Act for further information and regulations.
Can I work in Home Health?
Temporary licensees must be supervised by licensee with a regular license who is on the premises. An OT with a temporary license must have an OT with a regular license on the premises. An OTA with a temporary license must have an OT or OTA with a regular license on the premises. This is true for all settings including home health.
How long will I practice on the Temporary License?
On average approximately 1-2 months, depending on whether you take the exam early in your ATT period or later. If you fail the examination, fail to take the examination during the 90 day window as stated on the Confirmation of Examination Registration and Eligibility to Examine form from NBCOT, or fail to have the score reported, the temporary license is void and must be returned to the Board. An additional temporary license will not be issued. Read §364.3 of the Rules. Remember we receive score reports throughout the week.
Can I apply for a Temporary License after I've applied for Regular License?
Yes. Send in the temporary license fee and the required items.
Can I supervise an aide?
No. §373.2 of the Rules: Temporary licensees may not supervise anyone.