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ment" has the meaning assigned by Title 49, Code of Federal Regu-
lations, §395.2. 

(5) Drivers of vehicles operating in intrastate transporta-
tion claiming the 150 air-mile radius exemption in paragraph (4) of 
this subsection must return to the work reporting location; be released 
from work within 12 consecutive hours; and have at least 8 consecutive 
hours off-duty separating each 12 hours on-duty. 

(6) The provisions of Title 49, Code of Federal Regula-
tions, §391.11(b)(1) shall not apply to intrastate commerce. The min-
imum age for an intrastate driver shall be 18 years of age. Intrastate 
drivers in violation of this paragraph shall be placed out-of-service un-
til no longer in violation. 

(7) The provisions of Title 49, Code of Federal Regula-
tions, §391.11(b)(2) shall not apply to intrastate commerce. An in-
trastate driver must have successfully passed the examination for a 
Texas Commercial Driver's License and be a minimum age of 18 years 
old. 

(8) Texas Transportation Code, §547.401 and §547.404, 
concerning brakes on trailers weighing 15,000 pounds gross weight 
or less take precedence over the brake requirements in the federal 
regulations for trailers of this gross weight specification unless the 
vehicle is required to meet the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle 
Safety Standard No. 121 (Title 49, Code of Federal Regulations 
§571.121) applicable to the vehicle at the time it was manufactured. 

(9) Title 49, Code of Federal Regulations, §390.23 (Re-
lief from Regulations), is adopted for intrastate motor carriers with the 
exceptions detailed in subparagraph (A) and subparagraph (B) of this 
paragraph: 

(A) Title 49, Code of Federal Regulations, 
§390.23(a)(2) is not applicable to intrastate motor carriers making 
emergency residential deliveries of heating fuels or responding to a 
pipeline emergency, provided the carrier: 

(i) documents the type of emergency, the duration of 
the emergency, and the drivers utilized; and 

(ii) maintains the documentation on file for a mini-
mum of six months. An emergency under this paragraph is one that if 
left unattended would result in immediate serious bodily harm, death 
or substantial property damage but does not include routine requests to 
refill empty propane gas tanks. 

(B) The requirements of Title 49, Code of Federal Reg-
ulations, §390.23(c)(1) and (2), for intrastate motor carriers shall be: 

(i) the driver has met the requirements of Texas 
Transportation Code, Chapter 644; and 

(ii) the driver has had at least eight consecutive 
hours off-duty when the driver has been on duty for 15 or more 
consecutive hours, or the driver has had at least 34 consecutive hours 
off duty when the driver has been on duty for more than 70 hours in 
seven consecutive days. 

(10) The provisions of Title 49, Code of Federal Regula-
tions, Part 380 (Subparts A - D) shall not apply to intrastate motor car-
riers and drivers. Title 49, Code of Federal Regulations, Part 380 (Sub-
part E) is adopted for intrastate motor carriers and drivers. Intrastate 
motor carriers and drivers must complete the requirements of Title 49, 
Code of Federal Regulations, §380.500 on or before July 31, 2005. 

(11) In accordance with §4132 of the Safe, Accountable, 
Flexible, Efficient Transportation Equity Act: A Legacy for Users 
(SAFETA-LU) (Pub. L. 109-59), the hours of service regulations 
in this subchapter are not applicable to utility service vehicles that 

operate in either interstate or intrastate commerce. Utility service 
vehicles are those vehicles operated by public utilities, as defined in 
the Public Utility Regulatory Act, the Gas Utility Regulatory Act, the 
Texas Water Code, Title 49, Code of Federal Regulations, §395.2, or 
other applicable regulations, and charged with the responsibility for 
maintaining essential services to the public to protect health and safety. 

(12) The United States Department of Transportation num-
ber requirements in Texas Transportation Code, Chapter 643 do not ap-
ply to vehicles/motor carriers operating exclusively in intrastate com-
merce and that are exempted from the requirements by Texas Trans-
portation Code, §643.002. 

(13) Drivers of vehicles under this section, operating in in-
trastate transportation, who encounter adverse driving conditions and 
cannot, because of those conditions, safely complete the run within the 
maximum driving time or duty time during which driving is permitted 
under subsection (a)(2) of this section, may drive and be permitted or 
required to drive a commercial motor vehicle for not more than two 
additional hours beyond the maximum allowable hours permitted un-
der subsection (a)(2) of this section to complete that run or to reach a 
place offering safety for the occupants of the commercial motor vehicle 
and security for the commercial motor vehicle and its cargo. Adverse 
driving conditions means snow, sleet, fog, or other adverse weather 
conditions, a highway covered with snow or ice, or unusual road and 
traffic conditions, none of which were apparent on the basis of informa-
tion known to the driver immediately prior to beginning the duty day or 
immediately before beginning driving after a qualifying rest break or 
sleeper berth period, or a motor carrier immediately prior to dispatch-
ing the driver. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 5, 2020. 
TRD-202003167 
D. Phillip Adkins 
General Counsel 
Texas Department of Public Safety 
Earliest possible date of adoption: September 20, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 424-5848 

TITLE 40. SOCIAL SERVICES AND ASSIS-
TANCE 

PART 12. TEXAS BOARD OF 
OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY 
EXAMINERS 

CHAPTER 374. DISCIPLINARY AC-
TIONS/DETRIMENTAL PRACTICE/COM-
PLAINT PROCESS/CODE OF ETHICS/LI-
CENSURE OF PERSONS WITH CRIMINAL 
CONVICTIONS 
40 TAC §374.1 

The Texas Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners proposes 
amendments to the Schedule of Sanctions Figure in 40 Texas 
Administrative Code §374.1, concerning Disciplinary Actions. 
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The amendments are proposed to replace "investigative costs" 
with "administrative penalties" in the Schedule of Sanctions, 
and to update other language to make the schedule consistent 
with other provisions in the chapter. 
Changes to the Schedule of Sanctions include replacing inves-
tigative costs with administrative penalties. The Occupational 
Therapy Practice Act, Texas Occupations Code §454.3521, 
authorizes the Board to impose an administrative penalty for a 
violation of the chapter or a rule adopted under the chapter. The 
proposed amendments to the Schedule of Sanctions Figure in 
§374.1 will impose administrative penalties, not to exceed $200 
for each day a violation continues or occurs, to the "Minimum 
Discipline," "Intermediate Discipline," and "Maximum Disci-
pline" levels per §454.3521. The graduated penalty amounts 
are assessed based on the severity and type of violation per 
§454.3025(a). 
Additional changes to the Schedule of Sanctions include updat-
ing citations to the "OT Act/Rule" column. The changes also 
include removing from the "Failed to Properly Renew a License" 
violation the reference to §367.1(b) and replacing such with a 
reference to the full §367.1, concerning continuing education, 
as further provisions in the section concern the violation. Such a 
change, concomitantly, will ensure that the schedule's reference 
to the section remains intact in the event that changes to the let-
tering of the section's provisions are made. 
An additional cleanup removes the phrase "until conditions are 
met or indefinitely" from the "Maximum Discipline" column, with 
regard to the revocation or surrender of a license. The change 
is made to reflect that the administrative penalty assessed in an 
order is fixed, not indefinitely cumulative. 
A further change to the section concerns removing from the "Min-
imum Discipline" and "Intermediate Discipline" columns the ex-
traneous term "provisional" when it precedes "restricted prac-
tice." The removal is a cleanup to increase consistency in the 
schedule, as in other areas of the schedule, just the phrase 
"restricted practice" is employed for an equivalent sanction. A 
further change to the section involves a cleanup to correct "li-
censee" to "license." 
FISCAL NOTE ON STATE AND LOCAL GOVERNMENTS 

Ralph A. Harper, Executive Director of the Executive Council 
of Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy Examiners, 
has determined that for the first five-year period the proposed 
amendments are in effect, there will be no fiscal impact to state 
or local governments as a result of enforcing or administering 
these amendments as proposed under Texas Government 
Code §2001.024(a)(4) because the amendments do not impose 
a cost on state or local governments. 
LOCAL EMPLOYMENT IMPACT 

Mr. Harper has determined that the proposed amendments 
would not impact a local economy. Therefore, a local employ-
ment impact statement is not required under Texas Government 
Code §2001.022 and §2001.024(a)(6). 
PUBLIC BENEFIT AND COST NOTE 

Mr. Harper has determined under Texas Government Code 
§2001.024(a)(5) that for each of the first five years the pro-
posed amendments would be in effect, the public benefit will 
be the increased consistency of the penalties in the Schedule 
of Sanctions and conformity with other sections in the Occupa-
tional Therapy Practice Act. There would not be an additional 

anticipated economic cost to persons required to comply with 
the proposed amendments because the Occupational Ther-
apy Practice Act already allows for the Board to impose an 
administrative penalty and proposed changes do not exceed 
that amount, and the remaining proposed amendments are 
cleanups that do not concern costs. 
ECONOMIC IMPACT ON SMALL BUSINESSES, MICRO-BUSI-
NESSES, AND RURAL COMMUNITIES 

Mr. Harper has determined there would be no costs or adverse 
economic effects on small businesses, micro-businesses, or ru-
ral communities. Therefore, no economic impact statement or 
regulatory flexibility analysis is required under Texas Govern-
ment Code §2006.002. 
TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT 

The agency has determined that no private real property inter-
ests are affected by these proposed amendments and that these 
amendments do not restrict, limit, or impose a burden on an 
owner's rights to his or her private real property that would oth-
erwise exist in the absence of government action. As a result, 
these amendments do not constitute a taking under Texas Gov-
ernment Code §2007.043. 
GOVERNMENT GROWTH IMPACT STATEMENT 

The agency has determined under Texas Government Code 
§2001.0221 that during the first five years the rule would be in 
effect: 
(1) the rule will not create or eliminate a government program; 
(2) the rule will not require the creation of new employee posi-
tions or the elimination of existing employee positions; 
(3) the rule will not require an increase or decrease in future 
legislative appropriations to the agency; 
(4) the rule will not require an increase or decrease in fees paid 
to the agency; 
(5) the rule will not create a new regulation as the changes con-
cerning administrative penalties reflect extant regulations con-
cerning such in the Occupational Therapy Practice Act, and fur-
ther changes are cleanups; 
(6) the rule will not limit, repeal, or expand an existing regula-
tion as changes concerning administrative penalties reflect ex-
tant regulations already in effect in the Occupational Therapy 
Practice Act, and further changes are cleanups; 
(7) the rule will not increase or decrease the number of individ-
uals subject to the rule's applicability; and 

(8) the rule will neither positively nor adversely affect this state's 
economy. 
COSTS TO REGULATED PERSONS 

The agency determined that the rule does not impose a cost on 
regulated persons who practice in compliance with the Board's 
statute and rules, and the rule does not impose a cost on another 
state agency, a special district, or a local government. To the ex-
tent the rule imposes a cost on regulated persons by imposing an 
administrative penalty at the conclusion of a disciplinary action, 
the sanction is necessary to deter the practice of occupational 
therapy in a manner detrimental to the public health and welfare. 
This rule is not subject to Texas Government Code §2001.0045 
because the rule is necessary to protect the health, safety, and 
welfare of the residents of this state and the Board is required to 
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adopt a schedule of administrative penalties and other sanctions 
by rule pursuant to Texas Occupations Code §454.3025(a). 
ENVIRONMENTAL IMPACT STATEMENT 

The agency has determined that the proposed amendments 
do not require an environmental impact analysis because the 
amendments are not major environmental rules under Texas 
Government Code §2001.0225. 
PUBLIC COMMENT 

Comments on the proposed amendments may be submitted 
in writing to Lea Weiss, Occupational Therapy Coordina-
tor, Texas Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners, 333 
Guadalupe Street, Suite 2-510, Austin, Texas 78701-3942 or to 
lea@ptot.texas.gov within 30 days following the publication of 
this notice in the Texas Register. It is requested when sending 
a comment that individuals include the rule section to which 
the comment refers and that comments sent by email include 
"Public Comment" in the email's subject line. 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The amendments to the Schedule of Sanctions Figure in 40 
TAC §374.1(c) are proposed under Texas Occupations Code 
§454.102, which authorizes the Board to adopt rules to carry 
out its duties under chapter 454. The amendments are also 
proposed under §454.3025, which requires the Board by rule 
to adopt a schedule of administrative penalties and other sanc-
tions that the Board may impose under this chapter. Lastly, the 
amendments are proposed under §454.3521, which authorizes 
the Board to impose an administrative penalty, not to exceed 
$200 for each day a violation continues or occurs, under this 
chapter for a violation of this chapter or a rule or order adopted 
under this chapter. 
CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE 

No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by these 
amendments. 
§374.1. Disciplinary Actions. 

(a) The board, in accordance with the Administrative Proce-
dure Act, may deny, revoke, suspend, or refuse to renew or issue a 
license, or may reprimand or impose probationary conditions, if the 
licensee or applicant for licensure has been found in violation of the 
rules or the Act. The board will adhere to procedures for such action 
as stated in the Act, §§454.301, 454.302, 454.303, and 454.304. 

(b) The board recognizes four levels of disciplinary action for 
its licensees. 

(1) Level I: Order and/or Letter of Reprimand or Other Ap-
propriate Disciplinary Action (including but not limited to community 
service hours). 

(2) Level II: Probation--The licensee may continue to prac-
tice while on probation. The board orders the probationary status which 
may include but is not limited to restrictions on practice and continued 
monitoring by the board during the specified time period. 

(3) Level III: Suspension--A specified period of time that 
the licensee may not practice as an occupational therapist or occupa-
tional therapy assistant. Upon the successful completion of the suspen-
sion period, the license will be reinstated upon the licensee successfully 
meeting all requirements. 

(4) Level IV: Revocation--A determination that the li-
censee may not practice as an occupational therapist or occupational 
therapy assistant. Upon passage of 180 days, from the date the revo-

cation order becomes final, the former licensee may petition the board 
for re-issuance of a license. The former licensee may be required to 
re-take the Examination. 

(c) The board shall utilize the following schedule of sanctions 
in all disciplinary matters. 
Figure: 40 TAC §374.1(c) 
[Figure: 40 TAC §374.1(c)] 

(d) The board shall consider the following factors in conjunc-
tion with the schedule of sanctions when determining the appropriate 
penalty/sanction in disciplinary matters: 

(1) the seriousness of the violation, including: 

(A) the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of the 
violation; and 

(B) the hazard or potential hazard created to the health, 
safety, or economic welfare of the public; 

(2) the history of previous violations; 

(3) the amount necessary to deter future violations; 

(4) efforts to correct the violation; 

(5) the economic harm to the public interest or public con-
fidence caused by the violation; 

(6) whether the violation was intentional; and 

(7) any other matter that justice requires. 

(e) Licensees who provide occupational therapy services are 
responsible for understanding and complying with Chapter 454 of the 
Occupations Code (the Occupational Therapy Practice Act), and the 
Texas Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners' rules. 

(f) Final disciplinary actions taken by the board will be rou-
tinely published as to the names and offenses of the licensees. 

(g) A licensee who is ordered by the board to perform certain 
act(s) will be monitored by the board to ensure that the required act(s) 
are completed per the order of the board. 

(h) The board may expunge any record of disciplinary action 
taken against a license holder before September 1, 2019, for practicing 
in a facility that failed to meet the registration requirements of §454.215 
of the Act (relating to Occupational Therapy Facility Registration), as 
that section existed on January 1, 2019. The board may not expunge a 
record under this subsection after September 1, 2021. 

(i) A licensee or applicant is required to report to the board a 
felony of which he/she is convicted within 60 days after the conviction 
occurs. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 7, 2020. 
TRD-202003213 
Ralph A. Harper 
Executive Director 
Texas Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners 
Earliest possible date of adoption: September 20, 2020 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-6900 
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Schedule of Sanctions 

Disciplinary 
Violations 

OT Act/Rule 
Minimum 
Discipline 

Intermediate 
Discipline 

Maximum 
Discipline 

Remarks 

 

 
 

Impersonating 
another person 
holding an 
occupational 
therapy license or 
allowing another 
person to use his 
or her license 

Sec. 
454.301(a)(6) 
Sec. 454.201 
§374.2(1) 

30-45 day 
license 
suspension  
+up to $100 
per violation 
[+investigative 
costs] /  
Cease and 
desist letter to 
the 
impersonator  

45-90 day 
license 
suspension 
+up to $150 
per violation 
[+investigative 
costs] 

Revocation 
or Surrender 
of license 
+up to $200 
per violation 
[(until 
conditions 
are met  or 
indefinitely)] 

Alternative 
disciplinary 
decisions or 
pursuing other 
courses of action 
may depend on 
the nature of the 
situation, repeat 
of violation, or 
development. 

Using occupational 
therapy techniques 
or modalities for 
purposes not 
consistent with the 
development of 
occupational 
therapy as a 
profession, as a 
science, or as a 
means for 
promoting the 
public health and 
welfare 

Sec. 
454.301(a)(6) 
§374.2(2) 

30-60 hours 
community 
service +up to 
$100 per 
violation 
[+investigative 
costs] 

30-60 day 
license 
suspension 
+up to $150 
per violation 
[+investigative 
costs] 

Revocation 
or Surrender 
of license 
+up to $200 
per violation 
[(until 
conditions 
are met  or 
indefinitely)] 

Alternative 
disciplinary 
decisions or 
pursuing other 
courses of action 
may depend on 
the nature of the 
situation, repeat 
of violation, or 
development. 

Failing to report or 
otherwise 
concealing 
information related 
to violations of the 
Act, or rules and 
regulations 
pursuant to the 
Act, which could 
therefore result in 
harm to the public 
health and welfare 
or damage the 
reputation of the 
profession 

Sec. 
454.301(a)(6) 
§374.2(3) 

30-60 hours 
community 
service +up to 
$100 per 
violation 
[+investigative 
costs] 

30-60 day 
license 
suspension 
+up to $150 
per violation 
[+investigative 
costs] 

Revocation 
or Surrender 
of license 
+up to $200 
per violation 
[(until 
conditions 
are met  or 
indefinitely)] 

Alternative 
disciplinary 
decisions or 
pursuing other 
courses of action 
may depend on 
the nature of the 
situation, repeat 
of violation, or 
development. 

Intentionally 
making or filing a 
false or misleading 
report, or failing to 
file a report when it 
is required by law 
or third person, or 
intentionally 
obstructing or 
attempting to 
obstruct another 
person from filing 
such a report 

Sec. 
454.301(a)(6) 
§374.2(4) 

30-60 hours 
community 
service +up to 
$100 per 
violation 
[+investigative 
costs] 

30-60 day 
license 
suspension 
+up to $150 
per violation 
[+investigative 
costs] 

Revocation 
or Surrender 
of license 
+up to $200 
per violation 
[(until 
conditions 
are met  or 
indefinitely)] 

Alternative 
disciplinary 
decisions or 
pursuing other 
courses of action 
may depend on 
the nature of the 
situation, repeat 
of violation, or 
development. 

Intentionally 
harassing, 

Sec. 
454.301(a)(6) 

30-60 hours 
community 

30-60 day 
license 

Revocation 
or Surrender 

Alternative 
disciplinary 

lweiss
Text Box
Figure: 40 TAC §374.1(c)



Schedule of Sanctions 

Disciplinary 
Violations 

OT Act/Rule 
Minimum 
Discipline 

Intermediate 
Discipline 

Maximum 
Discipline 

Remarks 

 

 
 

abusing, or 
intimidating a 
patient either 
physically or 
verbally 

§374.2(5) service +up to 
$100 per 
violation 
[+investigative 
costs] 

suspension 
with restricted 
practice +up 
to $150 per 
violation 
[+investigative 
costs]; referral 
for criminal 
investigative 
entity 

of license 
+up to $200 
per violation 
[(until 
conditions 
are met  or 
indefinitely)] 

decisions or 
pursuing other 
courses of action 
may depend on 
the nature of the 
situation, repeat 
of violation, or 
development. 

Intentionally or 
knowingly offering 
to pay or agreeing 
to accept any 
remuneration 
directly or 
indirectly, overtly 
or covertly, in cash 
or in kind, to or 
from any person, 
firm, association of 
persons, 
partnership, or 
corporation for 
receiving or 
soliciting patients 
or patronage, 
regardless of 
source of 
reimbursement, 
unless said 
business 
arrangement or 
payments practice 
is acceptable 
under the Texas 
Health and Safety 
Code,  
§§161.091 - 
161.094, the 
Social Security 
Act, §1128B, 42 
United States 
Code 1320a-7b, or 
the Social Security 
Act, §1877, 42 
United States 
Code 1395nn or its 
regulations 

Sec. 
454.301(a)(6) 
§374.2(6) 

30-60 hours 
community 
service +up to 
$100 per 
violation 
[+investigative 
costs] 

30-60 day 
license 
suspension 
+up to $150 
per violation 
[+investigative 
costs] 

Revocation 
or Surrender 
of license 
+up to $200 
per violation 
[(until 
conditions 
are met  or 
indefinitely)] 

Alternative 
disciplinary 
decisions or 
pursuing other 
courses of action 
may depend on 
the nature of the 
situation, repeat 
of violation, or 
development. 

Recommending or 
prescribing 
therapeutic 
devices or 
modalities sold by 
a third person for 

Sec. 
454.301(a)(6) 
§374.2(7) 

30-60 hours 
community 
service +up to 
$100 per 
violation 

30-60 day 
license 
suspension 
+up to $150 
per violation 

Revocation 
or Surrender 
of license 
+up to $200 
per violation 

Alternative 
disciplinary 
decisions or 
pursuing other 
courses of action 
may depend on 



Schedule of Sanctions 

Disciplinary 
Violations 

OT Act/Rule 
Minimum 
Discipline 

Intermediate 
Discipline 

Maximum 
Discipline 

Remarks 

 

 
 

the purpose or 
with the result of 
receiving a fee or 
other 
consideration from 
the third person 

 [+investigative 
costs] 

[+investigative 
costs] 

[(until 
conditions 
are met  or 
indefinitely)] 

the nature of the 
situation, repeat 
of violation, or 
development. 

Breaching the 
confidentiality of 
the 
patient/therapist 
relationship 

Sec. 
454.301(a)(6) 
§374.2(8) 

30-60 hours 
community 
service +up to 
$100 per 
violation 
[+investigative 
costs] 

30-60 day 
license 
suspension 
+up to $150 
per violation 
[+investigative 
costs] 

Revocation 
or Surrender 
of license 
+up to $200 
per violation 
[(until 
conditions 
are met  or 
indefinitely)] 

Alternative 
disciplinary 
decisions or 
pursuing other 
courses of action 
may depend on 
the nature of the 
situation, repeat 
of violation, or 
development. 

Failing to obtain 
informed consent 
prior to engaging 
in scientific 
research involving 
patients, or 
otherwise violating 
ethical principles 
of research as 
defined by the 
TBOTE Code of 
Ethics, §374.4 of 
this title (relating to 
Code of Ethics), or 
other occupational 
therapy standards 

Sec. 
454.301(a)(6) 
§374.2(9) 

30-60 hours 
community 
service and 
additional 
course in ethics 
+up to $100 
per violation 
[+investigative 
costs] 

30-60 day 
license 
suspension 
and additional 
course in 
ethics +up to 
$150 per 
violation 
[+investigative 
costs] 

Revocation 
or Surrender 
of license 
+up to $200 
per violation 
[(until 
conditions 
are met  or 
indefinitely)] 

Alternative 
disciplinary 
decisions or 
pursuing other 
courses of action 
may depend on 
the nature of the 
situation, repeat 
of violation, or 
development. 

Practicing 
occupational 
therapy after the 
expiration of a 
temporary, 
provisional, or 
regular license 

Sec. 
454.301(a)(6) 
Sec. 454.201 
§374.2(10) 

30-60 hours 
community 
service +up to 
$100 per 
violation 
[+investigative 
costs] 

30-60 day 
license 
suspension 
+up to $150 
per violation 
[+investigative 
costs] 

Revocation 
or Surrender 
of license 
+up to $200 
per violation 
[(until 
conditions 
are met  or 
indefinitely)] 

Alternative 
disciplinary 
decisions or 
pursuing other 
courses of action 
may depend on 
the nature of the 
situation, repeat 
of violation, or 
development. 

Violation of 
Chapter 373 of this 
title (relating to 
Supervision) 

Sec. 
454.301(a)(6) 
§374.2(11) 

30-60 hours 
community 
service +up to 
$100 per 
violation 
[+investigative 
costs] 

30-60 day 
license 
suspension 
+up to $150 
per violation 
[+investigative 
costs] 

Revocation 
or Surrender 
of license 
+up to $200 
per violation 
[(until 
conditions 
are met  or 
indefinitely)] 

Alternative 
disciplinary 
decisions or 
pursuing other 
courses of action 
may depend on 
the nature of the 
situation, repeat 
of violation, or 
development. 

Advertising in a 
manner which is 

Sec. 
454.301(a)(6) 

Letter to cease 
and desist; if 

Letter to 
cease and 

Revocation 
or Surrender 

Alternative 
disciplinary 



Schedule of Sanctions 

Disciplinary 
Violations 

OT Act/Rule 
Minimum 
Discipline 

Intermediate 
Discipline 

Maximum 
Discipline 

Remarks 

 

 
 

false, misleading, 
or deceptive / 
Advertised in a 
manner that in any 
way tends to 
deceive or defraud 
the public 

§374.2(12) /   
Sec. 
454.301(7) 

licensed, 30-60 
hours 
community 
service +up to 
$100 per 
violation 
[+investigative 
costs] 

desist; if 
licensed, 30-
60 day license 
suspension 
+up to $150 
per violation 
[+investigative 
costs] 

of license 
+up to $200 
per violation 
[(until 
conditions 
are met  or 
indefinitely)] 

decisions or 
pursuing other 
courses of action 
may depend on 
the nature of the 
situation, repeat 
of violation, or 
development. 

Failing to give 
sufficient prior 
written notice of 
resignation of 
employment (or 
termination of 
contract) resulting 
in loss or delay of 
patient treatment 
for those 
patients/clients 
under the 
licensee's care 

Sec. 
454.301(a)(6) 
§374.2(13) 

30-60 hours 
community 
service +up to 
$100 per 
violation 
[+investigative 
costs] 

30-60 day 
license 
suspension 
+up to $150 
per violation 
[+investigative 
costs] 

Revocation 
or Surrender 
of license 
+up to $200 
per violation 
[(until 
conditions 
are met  or 
indefinitely)] 

Alternative 
disciplinary 
decisions or 
pursuing other 
courses of action 
may depend on 
the nature of the 
situation, repeat 
of violation, or 
development. 

Failing to maintain 
the confidentiality 
of all verbal, 
written, electronic, 
augmentative, and 
nonverbal 
communication, 
including 
compliance with 
HIPAA regulations 

Sec. 
454.301(a)(6) 
§374.2(14) 

30-60 hours 
community 
service +up to 
$100 per 
violation 
[+investigative 
costs] 

30-60 day 
license 
suspension 
+up to $150 
per violation 
[+investigative 
costs] 

Revocation 
or Surrender 
of license 
+up to $200 
per violation 
[(until 
conditions 
are met  or 
indefinitely)] 

Alternative 
disciplinary 
decisions or 
pursuing other 
courses of action 
may depend on 
the nature of the 
situation, repeat 
of violation, or 
development. 

Failed CE Audit §367.3 30-60 hours 
community 
service and 
completion of 
CE hours +up 
to $100 per 
violation 
[+investigative 
costs] 

30-60 day 
license 
suspension 
and 
completion of 
CE hours +up 
to $150 per 
violation 
[+investigative 
costs] 

Revocation 
or Surrender 
of license 
+up to $200 
per violation 
[(until 
conditions 
are met  or 
indefinitely)] 

Alternative 
disciplinary 
decisions or 
pursuing other 
courses of action 
may depend on 
the nature of the 
situation, repeat 
of violation, or 
development. 

Failed to properly 
renew license 

Sec. 454.252 
Sec. 454.255 
§367.1[(b)] 
§370.1 

30-60 hours 
community 
service and 
completion of 
CE hours +up 
to $100 per 
violation 
[+investigative 
costs] 

30-60 day 
license 
suspension 
and 
completion of 
CE hours +up 
to $150 per 
violation 
[+investigative 
costs] 

Revocation 
or Surrender 
of license 
+up to $200 
per violation 
[(until 
conditions 
are met  or 
indefinitely)] 

Alternative 
disciplinary 
decisions or 
pursuing other 
courses of action 
may depend on 
the nature of the 
situation, repeat 
of violation, or 
development. 

Used drugs or 
intoxicating liquors 
to an extent that 

Sec. 
454.301(1) 

30-90 day 
license 
suspension 

6-12 month 
license 
suspension 

Revocation 
or Surrender 
of license 

Alternative 
disciplinary 
decisions or 



Schedule of Sanctions 

Disciplinary 
Violations 

OT Act/Rule 
Minimum 
Discipline 

Intermediate 
Discipline 

Maximum 
Discipline 

Remarks 

 

 
 

affects the 
applicant's or 
license holder's 
professional 
competence 

with restricted 
practice +up to 
$100 per 
violation 
[+investigative 
costs] 

with 
[provisional] 
restricted 
practice +up 
to $150 per 
violation 
[+investigative 
costs] 

+up to $200 
per violation 
[(until 
conditions 
are met  or 
indefinitely)] 

pursuing other 
courses of action 
may depend on 
the nature of the 
situation, repeat 
of violation, or 
development. 

Been convicted of 
a crime, other than 
a minor offense 
defined as a 
"minor 
misdemeanor," 
"violation," or 
"offense," in any 
court if the act for 
which the 
applicant or 
license holder was 
convicted is 
determined by the 
board to have a 
direct bearing on 
whether the 
applicant or 
license holder 
should be 
entrusted to serve 
the public in the 
capacity of an 
occupational 
therapist or 
occupational 
therapy assistant 

Sec. 
454.301(2) 
 

Restricted 
practice +up to 
$100 per 
violation 

30-60 day 
license 
suspension 
with 
[provisional] 
restricted 
practice +up 
to $150 per 
violation 
[+investigative 
costs] 

Revocation 
or Surrender 
of license 
+up to $200 
per violation 
[(until 
conditions 
are met  or 
indefinitely)] 

Alternative 
disciplinary 
decisions or 
pursuing other 
courses of action 
may depend on 
the nature of the 
situation, repeat 
of violation, or 
development. 

Obtained or 
attempted to 
obtain a license by 
fraud or deception 

Sec. 
454.301(3) 
 

Letter of cease 
and desist for 
attempter / 30-
60 day license 
[licensee] 
suspension 
+up to $100 
per violation 
[+investigative 
costs] 

60-90 day 
license 
suspension 
with restricted 
practice +up 
to $150 per 
violation 
[+investigative 
costs]; referral 
for criminal 
investigative 
entity 

Revocation 
or Surrender 
of license 
+up to $200 
per violation 
[(until 
conditions 
are met  or 
indefinitely)] 

Alternative 
disciplinary 
decisions or 
pursuing other 
courses of action 
may depend on 
the nature of the 
situation, repeat 
of violation, or 
development. 

Been grossly 
negligent in the 
practice of 
occupational 
therapy or in 
acting as an 
occupational 
therapy assistant 

Sec. 
454.301(4) 
 

30-60 hours 
community 
service +up to 
$100 per 
violation 
[+investigative 
costs] 

30-90 day 
license 
suspension 
with restricted 
practice +up 
to $150 per 
violation 
[+investigative 

Revocation 
or Surrender 
of license 
+up to $200 
per violation 
[(until 
conditions 

Alternative 
disciplinary 
decisions or 
pursuing other 
courses of action 
may depend on 
the nature of the 
situation, repeat 



Schedule of Sanctions 

Disciplinary 
Violations 

OT Act/Rule 
Minimum 
Discipline 

Intermediate 
Discipline 

Maximum 
Discipline 

Remarks 

 

 
 

costs]; referral 
for criminal 
investigative 
entity 

are met  or 
indefinitely)] 

of violation, or 
development. 

Been found 
mentally 
incompetent by a 
court 

Sec. 
454.301(5) 
 

30-60 day 
license 
suspension 
with 
[provisional] 
restricted 
practice +up to 
$100 per 
violation 
[+investigative 
costs] 

6-12 month 
license 
suspension 
with 
[provisional] 
restricted 
practice +up 
to $150 per 
violation 
[+investigative 
costs] 

Revocation 
or Surrender 
of license 
+up to $200 
per violation 
[(until 
conditions 
are met  or 
indefinitely)] 

Alternative 
disciplinary 
decisions or 
pursuing other 
courses of action 
may depend on 
the nature of the 
situation, repeat 
of violation, or 
development. 

Had a license to 
practice 
occupational 
therapy revoked or 
suspended or had 
other disciplinary 
action taken 
against the 
applicant or 
license holder by 
the proper 
licensing authority 
of another state, 
territory, or nation 

Sec. 
454.301(8) 
 

30-60 hours 
community 
service +up to 
$100 per 
violation 
[+investigative 
costs] 

30-60 day 
license 
suspension 
with restricted 
practice +up 
to $150 per 
violation 
[+investigative 
costs] 

Revocation 
or Surrender 
of license 
+up to $200 
per violation 
[(until 
conditions 
are met  or 
indefinitely)] 

Alternative 
disciplinary 
decisions or 
pursuing other 
courses of action 
may depend on 
the nature of the 
situation, repeat 
of violation, or 
development. 

 


