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The 2009 Rules will be posted to the
website after January 1, 2010 and those
who are subscribed to board e-news will

receive a notice
http://www.ecptote.state.tx.us/ot/rules.html
Previous newsletters, forms and Frequently
Asked Questions are all up on the website.

Board meetings scheduled
February 25, 2010
May 26, 2010
August 20, 2010
November 5, 2010
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8370.2 Late Renewal Adopted

Five other rules proposed
The proposed rule which was published in the
Texas Register, sent out through board e-news,
received 3 public comments, and was adopted to
take affect on January 1, 2010.

The substance of the amendment was to rectify
changes brought about through OT Practice Act
changes which allow the board to change how it
treats former licensees who return to Texas to
practice. This will be an easier process, much like
a renewal. The board received the authority to
establish a fee for restoration and late renewal.
The Executive Council of Physical Therapy and
Occupational Therapy Examiners proposed the
fee changes, which were proposed and adopted
to take place on January 1, 2010. After that date,
late fees and restoration fees will be lower, as per
the new adopted fee schedule.

The last part of this rule amendment deals with
those who let their Texas license expire and stay
in Texas with no license. Those whose license is
expired more than 2 years may return to licensure
if they take the NBCOT exam “for licensure
purposes only;” take an advanced OT degree or
take a re-entry course through an accredited
college or university., but those whose license is
expired less than 2 years may do additional
continuing education. Again, contact the board to
see about your situation.

Four of the proposed rules eliminate the linked
facility category, the additional and primary facility
references in the Facility Registration rules. After
January 1, 2010, all OT facilities will be the same.
The 5™ rule amendment removes case
management from the CE not allowed category.
Case Management courses must meet the Type 1
or Type 2 definitions to qualify for CE credit.
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The Top Ten Question List

Frequently Asked Questions and Answers

1. Discharge: Who writes it?
‘Only an occupational therapist has
the authority to discharge patients
from occupational therapy services,
8372.1 (f) Discharge. There has
been some confusion that the OTA
or COTA can write the discharge
and just have the OT or OTR sign.
That is not the case.

Just as in the Plan of Care, the
occupational therapist can assign to the
occupational therapy assistant the
collection of data which will be read and
interpreted for Plan of Care. Similarly, the
occupational therapy assistant can write or
collect data to be used and interpreted in
writing the discharge.

Therefore, It is ok for the occupational
therapy assistant to be assigned to collect
the information for those patients he/she is
working directly with, and to write it
However, the occupational therapist must
carefully reviewing the information, making
whatever adjustments or addendums that
are necessary, determining if goals were
met or not, establishing any further needs
of the patient in another continuum of care,
and then signing off on the discharge.

2. Supervision of a Tech, Aide or
other Non-Licensed Personnel

Both Occupational Therapists and

Occupational Therapy Assistants can

delegate tasks to Non-Licensed Personnel.

Since the Aide, Tech, etc. has no license
we hold the OT or OTA responsible for
harm to a patient. The licensee must
interact with the patient during each
treatment session. This means going into
the treatment room and speaking with the
patient.

8373.1 cover what Aides, etc. can and
cannot do. The licensee must be
available to respond to the needs of the
patient. The Aide cannot introduce any
treatment for which the patient has not
shown previous performance ability. A
licensee must always be available for
patient care as the aide or tech cannot
work unsupervised. . The tech cannot
start treatment in the morning before the
licensee is available, or in the afternoon
after the licensee has left. Please check
§373.1 for more information.

3. Supervision of an Occupational
Therapy Assistant.

Every occupational therapy assistant
must be have supervision hours which
are written into the Supervision Log. The
time spent discussing patients assigned,
progress of patients, changes in the plan
of care, etc. all count for regular
supervision. The hours spent in person,
face to face are also recorded on the
Supervision Log.

The occupational therapy assistant must
always have an occupational therapist
available to speak with whether in
person or on the phone. This therapist is
the one whose name in entered in the
treatment note, not the OT who write the
plan of care, if that OT is not accessible.
Recent updates to 8373.3 mandate that
every OT who delegates to an OTA,
whether full time, part-time, or PRN,
participate in the supervision time. This
supervision time may be done so that all
the OTs do some of the supervision time
each month. For others, they will have
one OT take this month, and another OT
supervise the next month, etc. Each
method is fine; as long as all the OTs,
who delegate are participating.

Continued on page 3




4. Continuing Education

Licensees are able to look at the definition
for Type 1 and Type 2 as written in
Chapter 367 of the rules and place their
CE in the appropriate column.

CPR and other facility required repetitive
courses do not count for CE. Newly
amendment rules allow CE for Supervision
of fieldwork students, check our 8367.2 to
find out how.

5. Abandonment

This is an issue which required that every
licensee put their resignation in writing and
keep a copy for their records. Usually a 30
days written notice is sufficient, but if you
decide to stay longer write an amendment
to your resignation letter. If you sign an
employment contract, look at the
resignation clause, and see what is
required. Being asked to leave is not
abandonment. Walking out or phoning in
a resignation is not evidence for concern
for the well being of your patients. Rather
it is a violation of the OT Code of Ethics.

6. Facility Registration, but I'm not the
Therapist in Charge!

Board rules require that OT practitioners
work in facilities that are exempt from
registration or current with their
registration. Look at the facility registration
where you work and notice the annual
expiration date. You cannot provide
treatment after that date in a facility with an
expired registration. Note that other
licensees are in newsletters for disciplinary
action for this violation. This issue matters
to every licensee in a registered facility, or
one that should be registered.

If you are the Therapist in Charge: This
form no longer needs to be notarized,
however if you leave the employment of a
registered facility, you must also fax or
mail us the signed Therapist in Charge
form stating that you are no longer the
Therapist in Charge.

7. Where are my new rules?

We are no longer mailing the Act, Rules or
newsletters, as our licensee population is
now over 10, 000 licensees.

Please sign up for board e-news on our
homepage, and encourage everyone you
know to do the same
http://www.ecptote.state.tx.us/lists/subscrib

e.php

8. | have some practice questions,
where can | find this information?

Have you visited the Got a Question page
on the website?
http://www.ecptote.state.tx.us/ot/questions.
html

If your question is not answered in the
rules or on that page phone the board at
512/305-6900. Some issues, such as
billing are not addressed by the board.

9. Do fees ever go down?

Yes, as of January 1, 2010, the late fee(s)
and restoration fee will be reduced. Also if
you own your own business, the fee will be
reduced to $215. Visit the Fees page on
the website in January to read the revised
fees for licensees and facilities.

10. Amlan OT,an OTRor aLOT?
NBCOT copyrighted the initials OTR and
COTA, so licensees who are not
maintaining their certification with NBCOT
must use OT or OTA. The language was
amended in the OT Rules to reflect the
same language and references in the OT
Practice Act. Read more on this subject at
Got a Question page on the website.
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g zg Z OT Board Formal Disciplinary Actions
November 13, 2009 Board Meeting

(1) Susane Moore, LOT #106465 (Waco) — practiced in a manner
detrimental to the public health and welfare by resigning her position without
sufficient prior notice — thereby abandoning her patients. Violation of Section
454.301 of the Act and chapter 374 of the board rules. Board Order
suspended her license for thirty (30) days.

(2) Anne Valentine, OTR #104513 (Dallas) — practiced in a manner
detrimental to the public health and welfare resulting in the burn of a patient
under her care. Violation of Section 454.301 of the Act and chapter 374 of the
board rules. Board Order suspended her license for thirty (30) days

Report Violations to: 800-821-3205 or 512/305-6900 or www.ecptote.state.tx.us

File a complaint or notify authorities if you
see violations or patient abuse. The Code of
Ethics requires that you report violations.

¢ To report violations by an OT or OTA, call 800-821-3205 or 512/305-6900 or
www.ecptote.state.tx.us or use the online report form at:
http://www.ecptote.state.tx.us/complaints/index.html.

¢ To report violation by other health professionals: Call the Health Professional Council at 800-
821-3205 or visit their website at www.hpc.state.tx.us.

¢ To report violations by a nursing home, home health agency, or assisted living facility: call the
Department of Aging and Disability Services (DADS) or call 800-458-9858.

¢ Toreport Medicaid provider fraud: call the Attorney General’'s Medicaid Fraud control Unit at
512/463-2011 or email mfcu@oag.state.tx.us.

¢ To report that an elderly or disabled person being abused, neglected, or exploited and in
immediate danger: call 911, local law enforkement or the Department of Family and
Protective Service’s hot line at 800/252-5400.
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Frequently Requested Numbers

N

Texas Board of Occupational Therapy
Examiners (TBOTE)

Act & Rules, complaints, and practice of OT in
Texas

512/305-6900 telephone

512/305-6970 fax

Website: www.ecptote.state.tx.us

Email: info@ecptote.state.tx.us

Texas Occupational Therapy Association
(TOTA)

512/454-8682 telephone

512/450-1777 fax

www.tota.org

American Occupational Therapy
Association (AOTA)

Specialty certification, student fieldwork, national
issues, etc.

301/652-2682 telephone

www.aota.org

National Board for Certification in
Occupational Therapy (NBCOT)
National certification exam, and score reports
301/990-7979 telephone

301/869-8492 fax

www.nbcot.org

Dept. of Assistive and Rehab. Services (DARS)
Division of Early Childhood Intervention (ECI)
512/424-6790 telephone

512/424-6799 fax

www.dars.state.tx.us/ecis/

Early Childhood Education

DARS, ECI

4900 N Lamar

Austin, TX 78751-2399
http://www.dars.state.tx.us/ecis/index.shtmi

Medicare and Medicaid
www.medicare.gov

Medicare Part A

888/763-9836 (Rehab Dept, Hospital)
Medicare Part B

903/463-0720 (independent practitioners)
Medicaid provider fraud, or abuse of a
Medicaid recipient: 512/463-2011 or email
mfcu@aog.state.tx.us

Medicaid: 800/252-8263

SHARS
www.tea.state.tx/interagency/shars.html

Texas Dept. Aging and Disability
Services (DADS)

800/458-9858 Long term care & complaints
about nursing home, home health agency, or
assisted living facility.

800/252-8016 Nursing homes

512/719-3521 Licensing boards
800/228-1570 Home health agency

Elderly or disabled abuse, neglect call 911 or
local law enforcement or Department of Family
& Protective Services’ hot line: 800/252-5400.
www.dads.state.tx.us

Texas Dept. of State Health Services
(TDSH)

512/834-6650 Hospital licensing
www.tshs.state.tx.us

Texas Online Services

License applications, renewals, profile
www.texasonline.com

877-452-9060 Help desk
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