Facility Registration in Texas
The Texas Occupational Therapy and Physical Therapy Practice Acts require that facilities providing occupational therapy or physical therapy must be registered, unless exempt by law.
Every registered facility must have a Therapist-in-Charge form on file with the Board. If a facility offers both occupational therapy and physical therapy, there must be an OT in Charge and a PT in Charge.
Registration must be complete before OT or PT services may be provided in the facility. Therapists who work in facilities that are not exempt and not registered can be disciplined by the Board. Facilities that violate the law can be fined.
A registered facility is subject to random, on-site inspections by investigators of the Board.
A registered facility must display prominently the original Registration Certificate, the current Renewal Certificate, and a Consumer Information Sign to operate legally in Texas.
A Registration Certificate and/or the Renewal Certificate is the property of the Board and must be surrendered on demand to the Board.
The following changes must be reported to the Board in writing (email or fax) within 30 days of the date the change occurred:
- Therapist in Charge change
- Facility address or name changes
- Changes to managing partners or officers in the business entity that owns the facility
- Sale or closure of a registered facility
Therapist in Charge
Q: May I open my facility without an occupational therapist or physical therapy employed?
A: No treatment may take place until you have received your registratio certificate from the Board. Registration requires that you have a therapist in charge on file with the Board.
Q: Can the Therapist in Charge be in charge of more than one factiliy?
A: Yes. There is no limit by rule on the number. However, it is up to the therapists to insure that they carry out all of their responsibilities.
Q: I am no longer going to the the Therapist in Charge here, what do I need to do?
A: Send written notification to the Board that you are no longer the Therapist in Charge, include the effective date. The form we generally use is the Therapist in Charge form, which also has an area to say I am no longer the Therapist in Charge. Until we receive the notification, you officially remain in charge of that facility.
Q: What does the Therapist in Charge mean?
A: It does not mean you hare the Lead Therapist or the Managing Therapist for the owner. It means that you are aware of the OT or PT Rules, know when the facility's registration expires, so that you and fellow therapists are not working there when the facility registration expires, and know what is appropriate OT or PT treatment and the Board's rules. Any of the OTs or PTs working in the faciility may be the Therapist in Charge (TIC) Form is available on the facility forms page of the website. Download the TIC form.
Q: If I don't have a Therapist in Charge (TIC) yet, can I apply for a facility registration?
A: Yes. You may complete the online application process without knowing who the TIC will be, or who will be working in the facility. However, we will no release the facility registration certificate until we have the TIC Form on file.
Q: How can a facility undate the therapist in charge information?
A: The therapist must sign and fax or mail the form to the Board at 512/305-6970. Verify that we have received your informtion and try again in 3 days
Q: I am the sole owner of my faciltiy. I am considering incorporating. WIll that affect my facility registration?
A: Yes. The Board rules state that a registration may not be sold or transferred, and that a change in the type of ownership requires a new registration.
Q: Where do I hang the facility registration?
A: Only an original registration may be posted in a facility, not a copy. The registration must be posted in a public place along with the Consumer Complaint sign, which we mail to you with the original registration, or you can download one from the Facility Forms page.
Q: Can a PT clinic offer OT services?
A: A clinic may offer both OT and PT services if both are registered. The registration s are separate, as are the professions.
Q: Do I need to register a private school as a facility?
A: No. Schools are exempt from registration. For the list of other facilities that do not need to register, plase see the list of exempt facilities in the OT or PT Rules.
Q: A nursing facility(or assisted living facility) wants to contract with me for services; do I need to register the facility?
A: If you are proving services to residents of a nursing home or assisted living facility, you do not need to register that facility with the Board. However, if the nursing home or assisted living facilityalso provides treatment to outpatients, you must register the nursing home or assisted nursing facility with the Board
Q: If a facility is registered, does the registration cover more than one location?
A: No. Each facility must register. If they provide PT and OT, they must register for each profession.
Q: Do I need to register the public pool where I provide aquatic therapy?
A: Yes, because occupational therapy and/or physical therapy services take place at that physical site. During the hours of aquatic therapy, you must display the facility registration and the public compaint notice.
Q: Can I close one facility and keep another facility open?
A: Yes. To close a facility appropriately, you must notify the Board that you are closing a facility. By notifying the Board, you can re-open that facility in the future without extra late fees.
Q: Who may own an OT or PT facility?
A: The Boards have no rules restricting ownership of a facility. There are no requirements tht an OT own an OT facility, or a PT own a PT facility, nor any restriction against other professionals owning an OT or PT facility. Generally the person or corporation that receives the Explanation of Benefits (EOB) is the owner.
Q: Can I use my printed payment receipt as a temporary registration?
A: No. The application process is not complete until the Board has received the TIC Form and you have received your original wall certificate. You may not provide treatment until you have that certificate in hand.